His Divine Grace A.C. Bhaktivedanta Swami Prabhupāda

(1896-1977)

 

"He was a truly holy person with great integrity and compassion, and he had a powerful impact on those who met him. He never claimed authority and respect for himself; what he said and did was always in the name of Krishna."

- Dr. Thomas J. Hopkins

 

 

 

 

When His Divine Grace A.C. Bhaktivedanta Swami Srila Prabhupada entered New York Harbor on September 17, 1965, few Americans learned of his arrival - but he was not just an immigrant. His mission was to integrate into America a very ancient religious tradition of bhakti preserved in India: devotion to Lord Krishna. For the next 12 years, Srila Prabhupada successfully spread this monotheistic tradition. His spiritual movement - under the insignia of the International Society for Krishna Consciousness (ISKCON) - thus grew into a world confederation of more than 100 temples, ashrams and cultural centres.

 

Srila Prabhupada was born Abhay Charan De on September 1, 1896, into a pious Vaisnava family in Calcutta. Having grown up in India still under British control, Abhay became involved in Mahatma Gandhi's movement for civil disobedience, in order to obtain the independence of his nation. In 1922 he met Srila Bhaktisiddhanta Sarasvati, an eminent scholar and religious leader of the great spiritual lineage of Gaudiya Vaishnava - a tradition of devotion from Lord Chaitanya (1486-1534). Thus this great saint turned out to be the most influential on the future of Abhay, because Srila Bhaktisiddhanta immediately asked him to bring the teachings of Lord Krishna to the English-speaking western world. Abhay - who became a disciple of Srila Bhaktisiddhanta in 1933 - dedicated himself to fulfilling the request of his great master. Later known as the honorary title A.C. Bhaktivedanta Swami Prabhupada, he spent the next 32 years preparing for his journey west.

 

At the age of 69, Srila Prabhupada - traveling to New York on a cargo ship - suffered two heart attacks. Our eminent spiritual ambassador arrived in the United States in September 1965 with only seven dollars in Indian rupees and his translations of sacred Sanskrit texts. But he persevered with great determination to share the timeless wisdom of Krishna consciousness. His message of peace and goodwill resonated with many young people, and some became serious students of the Krishna tradition. With the help of his first students, Srila Prabhupada rented a small store in New York on the Lower East Side and transformed it into a temple. On July 11, 1966, he officially registered his movement by founding the International Society for Krishna Consciousness. Under his expert guidance, he gathered more than five thousand disciples who assisted him in spreading the Hare Krishna Movement to all corners of the globe. ISKCON has been able to grow at a phenomenal rate on a global scale, with more than 100 temples, restaurants, farms and cultural centers. In addition, he was able to translate from Sanskrit into English over fifty volumes of the most important devotional writings. His mission has therefore proven to be most fruitful.

 

Hundreds of thousands of people around the globe still continue to receive all the spiritual benefits that Srila Prabhupada has so abundantly bequeathed to all of humanity.

youtube prabhupada (2).png

Un court vidéo de Srila Prabhupada en entretien... (anglais sous-titré)

Sa Divine Grâce A.C. Bhaktivedanta Swami Prabhupāda

(1896-1977)

"C'était une personne réellement sainte avec une grande intégrité et compassion, et il a eu un impact puissant sur ceux qui l'ont rencontré. Il n'a jamais revendiqué l'autorité et le respect pour lui-même; ce qu'il a dit et fait a toujours été au nom de Krishna"

  - Dr. Thomas J. Hopkins

 

Lorsque Sa Divine Grâce A.C. Bhaktivedanta Swami Srila Prabhupada est entré dans le port de New York le 17 Septembre 1965, peu d'Américains ont pris connaissance de son arrivée - mais il n'était pas qu'un simple immigrant. Il avait comme mission d'intégrer en Amérique une très ancienne tradition religieuse du bhakti préservée en Inde: la dévotion au Seigneur Krishna. Pendant les 12 prochaines années, Srila Prabhupada a su répandre cette tradition monothéiste avec grand succès. Son mouvement spirituel -sous l'insigne de l'International Society for Krishna Consciousness (ISKCON) - a ainsi grandi dans une confédération mondiale de plus de 100 temples, ashrams et centres culturels.

Srila Prabhupada est né Abhay Charan De le 1er septembre, 1896, dans une famille Vaisnava pieuse à Calcutta. Ayant grandit dans l'Inde encore sous contrôle britannique, Abhay s'est impliqué dans le mouvement de Mahatma Gandhi pour la désobéissance civile, afin d’obtenir l'indépendance de sa nation. En 1922 il rencontra Srila Bhaktisiddhanta Sarasvati, un éminent érudit et chef religieux de la grande lignée spirituelle du Gaudiya Vaishnava - une tradition de dévotion issue du Seigneur Chaitanya (1486-1534). Ainsi ce grand saint s'est avéré le plus influent sur l'avenir de Abhay, car Srila Bhaktisiddhanta lui demanda aussitôt d’amener les enseignements du Seigneur Krishna dans le monde occidental anglophone. Abhay - devenu un disciple de Srila Bhaktisiddhanta en 1933 - se dédia à combler la demande de son grand maître. Plus tard connu sous le titre honorifique A.C. Bhaktivedanta Swami Prabhupada, il passa les 32 prochaines années à préparer son voyage vers l'ouest.

À l'âge de 69, Srila Prabhupada - voyageant à New York à bord d'un navire/cargo - subi deux attaques cardiaques. Notre éminent ambassadeur spirituel arriva aux États-Unis en septembre 1965 avec seulement sept dollars en roupies indiennes et ses traductions de textes sanskrits sacrés. Mais il persévéra avec grande détermination afin de partager la sagesse intemporelle de la conscience de Krishna. Son message de paix et de bonne volonté résonna auprès de nombreux jeunes, et certains sont devenus des étudiants sérieux de la tradition de Krishna. Avec l'aide de ses premiers étudiants, Srila Prabhupada loua un petit magasin à New York sur le Lower East Side pour en faire son premier temple. Le 11 Juillet 1966, il a officiellement enregistré son mouvement en fondant l'International Society for Krishna Consciousness (Association Internationale pour la Conscience de Krishna). Sous sa guidance experte, il rassembla plus de cinq milles disciples qui l'ont assisté à propager le Mouvement Hare Krishna à tous les coins du globe. ISKCON a pu ainsi grandir à un rythme phénoménal sur une échelle mondiale, avec plus de 100 temples, restaurants, fermes et centres culturels. En plus, il a pu traduire du sanskrit en anglais plus de cinquante volumes des plus importants écrits dévotionnels. Sa mission s'est donc avérée des plus fructueuses.

Des centaines de milliers de personnes autour du globe continuent toujours à recevoir tous les bienfaits spirituels que Srila Prabhupada a si abondamment légué à toute l’humanité.

1626 Boul. Pie-IX,

Montréal, Québec

514 521 1301

©2020 par ISKCON Montréal